First, some superlatives:

Favorite Album: I think I bought fewer albums in 2015 than any year since I was in college. Sorry, recording industry! I miss it, that immersive point-of-view experience, but it doesn’t seem to come along as often anymore. I listened to a lot of albums streaming, but found that cherrypicking one or two songs usually did the trick. Maybe I’m not trying hard enough. Anyway, Father John Misty’s I Love You Honeybear was the album I felt was strongest and most compelling all the way through and most rewarded the obsessive listenings I gave it (sorry, family, who had to hear it playing over and over!)

Favorite Happy Song: Sunday Candy, Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment. I wish more of Chance’s stuff had this neo-jazz, neo-soul, Stevie Wonder-esque sound! When I said this to my son he said, “Yeah, Dad, but you know his name is Chance the Rapper, right?”

Favorite Sad Song: The Blade, Ashley Monroe. A freeze-your-blood country song that manages to come up with a new metaphor for a familiar feeling. ‘Member when country music used to be about adults?

Favorite Song Lyric: “The songs on the radio are okay/But my taste in music is your face,” from Tear In My Heart by twenty one pilots.

Favorite Misheard Song Lyric: Jeff Rosenstock’s Nausea. Was sure he was saying, “Evenings of salad/and mornings of nausea/Shaking, sweating, can’t throw up.” Was all like, “Where’d you get that salad, dude, Chipotle?” Figured out it was “evenings of silence.”

Disk 1

  1. Restless Year, Ezra Fuhrman
  2. Sunday Candy, Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment ft. Chance the Rapper and Jamila Woods
  3. Addicted, Jesse Malin
  4. Under a Rock, Waxahatchee
  5. Pony, Waaves
  6. The Graduates, Speedy Ortiz
  7. Kelly, I’m Not a Creep, Young Guv
  8. Tear In My Heart, twenty one pilots
  9. Dead Fox, Courtney Barnett
  10. I Blew It Off, Punch Brothers
  11. Nausea, Jeff Rosenstock
  12. Before The World Was Big, Girlpool
  13. A Million Ways, Cheerleader
  14. Chateau Lobby #4 (in C for Two Virgins), Father John Misty
  15. Without You, Tobias Jesso
  16. Midnight, Tor Miller

Disk 2

  1. Sedona, Houndmouth
  2. Ex’s & Oh’s, Elle King
  3. Falling from the Sky, Calexico
  4. 24 Frames, Jason Isbell
  5. Baby Britain, Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield
  6. The Blade, Ashley Monroe
  7. Forbidden Nights, Darlene Love
  8. Times Square, Destroyer
  9. Phone In A Pool, Ben Folds
  10. Sunny, Squeeze
  11. This Beautiful Day, Brian Wilson
  12. Women’s Studies, Lloyd Cole
  13. Rainy Day Song, Andrew Combs
  14. Let It Rain (On Me), The Mavericks
  15. Where the Night Goes, Josh Ritter
  16. The Night Is Your Only Friend, Gramercy Arms
